PDA

View Full Version : 1k DE List

Meow Mix
11-04-2010, 01:59 AM
Hey all... new here on the BoLS forum but I've been playing 40k for about 4 years now. Since Dark Eldar were my first army I have been obviously very excited about the new codex. My group usually plays smaller games, with 1k-1.5k battles being the norm, and I haven't seen many of those posted so far. I've always enjoyed Raider spam and a balanced mix of kabalite, wych and haemonculi elements in my lists. I also have a distaste for special characters as a rule- I very much prefer the conversion and storytelling opportunities afforded by creating my own leaders. Finally, this is a list made to fight any army in a casual setting against players who have been throwing dice anywhere from a couple weeks to many years, so I tried to make one that would be fun to play as or against for a variety of skill levels and armies.
So, with that long-winded introduction out of the way, here's the main event:

HQ:
Archon w/ Shadow Field, Huskblade, Soul Cube, Combat Drugs. -145 pts. An obvious configuration but still scary. I'd like him to hunt enemy ICs and MCs, of course, but I think he'll be much more effective as a "boogey man" that keeps the enemy afraid of getting too close with their big guys.

Elites:
8X Mandrakes w/ Nightfiend. -130 pts. I love the models, and though they are a bit of a lackluster unit, I can see them being useful for bunching enemies together with outflank or tying down pieces of terrain with Infiltrate. You never know when they'll surprise you, too! Oh, and the Nightfiend is purely for the +1 Ld- an absolute necessity IMO.

Troops: