PDA

View Full Version : Warhammer newbie's starter Vampire Counts army...opinions?

WillyRapier
11-17-2010, 12:25 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to Warhammer (almost totally...always stuck with the futuristiky alien stuff before (Eldar player to the core) but an looking to expand into Fantasy along with some guys from work. I've been looking at the Vampire Counts army becuase, talking to the guys in-store, it's a powerful army only if played right (and "if you get it wrong, whoa do you get it wrong!!") I like a challenge...

My starter idea for the army, after reading the rules and army book, is as follows:

Heroes:
Necromancer, with Tomb Blade and Gambler's Armour - Army General

Vampire, with Dread Knight power, Seed of Rebirth and Channelling staff.

Core:
Skeleton Warriors unit - 20 warriors including champion, musician and standard bearer - all with spears (necromancer above is leading this unit, hence Tomb Blade)

Crypt Ghouls unit - 15 ghouls including Ghast

Crypt Ghouls unit - 15 ghouls including Ghast

Zombie Horde - 20 Zombies including musician and standard bearer

Corpse Cart - using Unholy Lodestone when there is small chance of enemy magicians, otherwise Balefire to cause them trouble

Dire Wolves - 10 wolves including Doom Wolf

Rare:
Blood Knights - 4 Blood Knights with Banner of Hellfire, lead by the Dread Knight vampire

Total: ~1250 points

General tactics:
Two-pronged advance; the core slow units, under the command of the Necromancer, move up one side of the battle-field, considerably bulky enough to draw at least some fire from the main body of the enemy army. This secton will be placed depending on the enemy deployment (if the enemy deploy first). The necromancer will do the majority of casting, keeping the surrounding units topped-up as they get whittled by fire (given a few more points, would consider taking this up to full vampire status, and using Lord of the Dead to be able to increase the skele unit above starting size).