PDA

View Full Version : 1500pts IG list, help needed

Duncndisorderly
12-14-2010, 08:25 AM
Im putting together an 1500pt IG list and as I've never used guard before Im not really sure as to what I should and shouldnt be looking to include. as a starter im going with the following
HQ
Company Command squad 50
Regimental std 15
Hvy Flamer 20
Meltagun 10
Chimera Transport 55

Lord Commisar 70
Powerfist 15

Elite
Ogryn Squad 130

Troop

Platoon Command Squad 30
Infantry Squad w/ grenade launcher, autocannon 65
Infantry Squad w/ grenade launcher, autocannon 65

Platoon Command Squad 30
Infantry Squad w/ grenade launcher, Lascannon 75
Infantry Squad w/ grenade launcher, Lascannon 75

Fast
Vendetta Gunship 130

Heavy
Leman Russ Vanquisher 155
Manticore 160
Squad of 2 leman Russ Battle tanks 150x2 =300

1455 Total

If im honest im going with these because there what i currently have but with xmas around the corner I may be looking to amke a few additions, all help appreciated, thanks

Sanguinary Dan
12-14-2010, 04:13 PM
I wouldn't bother giving the Lord Commissar a Power Fist. As an IC he can be picked out in CC and killed long before he gets to swing the Fist. Of course at a base I3 most folks are going before him anyway. So I guess what I'm saying is that I don't see the point in him at all. ;)

The exception would be a "Gaunt" style Commissar Lord with the Camo Cloak. Attached to a shooty blob (heavy weapons and GL or PG) that defends an objective or your artillery he's truly amazing.

A few additional points.
1) Always give your Cmd Squads (Company and Platoon) their maximum upgrades. For the cost of the Heavy Flamer you could buy 4 Flamers. And I'll take 4x S4 templates over a single S5 any day.

2) Ogryn that walk, die. Or at least never get where they're going without taking casualties. And unless you already have them I'm not so sold on their $$$ to game value ratio personally. The models aren't great and only 3 of them isn't really enough to make them dangerous.