PDA

View Full Version : Sword Masters and Lore of Life

MRC(+)
01-03-2011, 08:36 PM
I am new to WFB, so posting this to bounce it off more veteran players.

It seems as if Sword Masters are the unit par excellence of the current HE Army Book, so I have been thinking about how to employ them and minimize their weaknesses.

As I see it, their durability is their primary weakness and their mobility is their secondary weakness.

Looking through the different Lores, the Lore of Life seems to be what Sword Masters might need.

I am thinking of leading them with an Archmage (Lvl 3) with Lore of Life and the Seer Staff of Saphery. The best case scenario is if I can get Throne of Vines and Flesh to Stone successfully casted... then I have T7 Swordmasters for a turn... vast majority of attacks will be wounding them on a 6+ only. That leaves me with one more spell, which would be Earthblood...T7 Sword Masters Regerating on a 4+ is pretty tough, I believe.

I am still not sure about the mobility issue, but I guess if they are survivable enough, they can march 10" accross the board until they get within charging distance.

Another option, though expensive and perhaps a bit beardy, is to use Teclis with Lore of Life and 20+ Swordmasters.

Thoughts or advice appreciated

01-03-2011, 10:09 PM
Depending on what you're fighting (primarily higher toughness, higher armour save models), White Lions have slightly better output, so I would consider them to be on par with Swordmasters, personally. Both are solid choices, each suffering from durability issues. Life is a nice sidestep of that issue.

Taking Teclis is beardy, but still an awesome choice. Simply consider a Lvl 4 Archmage with Book, however. Should give you all the spells you need with a similar amount of IF spells, but about 100 points cheaper.

novatomato
01-03-2011, 10:12 PM
Yeah, I'd call Teclis with anything a little beardy with this edition.