PDA

View Full Version : Finding good foam

Astrothumps
08-29-2009, 05:29 PM
I live on the West Coast and am having a hard time locating good foam for building terrain.

I have found some blue foam that is 4inches thick in 8X2 feet sheets for $25.00.

I want to know if thats a good price and if there is anywhere online that I could order some good stuff.

Any help would be awesome.

late

Faolain
08-29-2009, 06:59 PM
I'm in California, and I can't find the thick foam anywhere. I had my friend bring some back from Utah when he went to visit his family. Apparently, the stuff is mostly illegal to sell here (that's what the guy at Lowe's said anyway), though it's not illegal to own it.

As far as I know, the blue stuff is just as good as the pink. It it sturdy? The white styrofoam is made up of small compressed pellets. This makes it crumble. If you can see the big pellets, don't get it. The good styrofoam is denser and won't crumble.

I'm not a styrofoam expert, but that is the knowledge that I have. Hope it helps.

Astrothumps
08-29-2009, 08:53 PM
I did find it at two spots in the Bay Area but it seems really pricey. Pacific Supplies and D&J hobbies has some for train stuff.

I have been asking around a little at RV hobby shops and train places since they seem to have a lot of the same needs.

entendre_entendre
08-29-2009, 09:22 PM
nothing in the local home improvement store? can't find styrofoam insulation? what do you insulate your houses with down there anyways? (remembers insulation in California is pretty redundant) oh... <facepalms>
idk where to find foam in Cali, but if you get foam, 4 inches is going to be really thick unless you cut it down to at least half that. just a thought coming from personal experience. i prefer 1.5 inch thickness myself (don't even start w/ the jokes :mad:)

Astrothumps
08-29-2009, 10:05 PM