PDA

View Full Version : High Elf IoB Prince... worth the points?

Drachenprinzen
02-05-2011, 05:46 PM
I started playing back in October and started with the Isle of Blood set. I'm sort of partial to using the Prince on the Griffon because the model is exquisite and can really pack a punch to crappy infantry and is also a good unit to attack flanks due to maneuverability.

I started using Prince Althran with the Star Lance and Vambraces of Defense, but now I prefer to field him as Eltharion on Stormwing. Either way, it is a cost of almost 500 points. Granted, as Eltharion, he is heroic in battle and there are no armor saves against his sword, and he is a lvl 2 mage, but is he really worth the points sink?

Thoughts?

Jwolf
02-08-2011, 09:28 AM
No, large flying mounts are sadly ruined by the accuracy of cannons in this edition.

Drachenprinzen
02-08-2011, 09:32 AM
Thanks for your honesty. I guess he's doomed to be a nice looking piece on the shelf... for now.

wilky
02-08-2011, 10:07 AM
I agree, sadly with the stupid measure range rule inplay, cannons and other warmachines have a field day shooting at flyers and any monsters.

Put a prince on a mount, with the usaul H/Armour, shield, Barding then Vambraces and orge blade. all of with is a lot less with a 2+ armour save with reroll and 4+ ward save and +2strength on every attack with rerolls to hit and wounding on 4+.

novatomato
02-08-2011, 10:07 AM
well, Jwolf is about 75% correct in his statement.