PDA

View Full Version : Black Templar experimental update

Bluesfart
09-01-2009, 02:25 PM
After the latest Space Marines codex was released and the jump from 4th to 5th edition, I was really inspired to make a homebrew update to the Black Templars. There was a lot of changes as a result of 5th edition (some vows are useless, some are too powerful) that changed the Templars in ways that I was uncomfortable with (though I certainly win a lot more), and I was very jealous of the new vanilla gear (especially the Storm Shields!). I wanted to try some new things that strengthened the fluff and game-play themes of the Templars, and also made them a bit more balanced.

Now after hearing rumors that updates to the DA, BA, and BT are all in the works I've sort of lost my inspiration. I was hoping that if I can get some feedback here, I might refuel the desire to complete it ( I'm a game designer and would love to have it as portfolio material ). There are a few kind of out-there changes including Command squads as troop choices and Inquisitors as elites (and differing from the Daemonhunters rules) and I'm not sure if keeping the existing zeal rules is what's best for the future of the Templars, so let me know if you have an opinion.

It's very rough still, but honest criticism is greatly appreciated on all aspects including formatting and organization.

http://www.bluesfart.com/Black%20Templars%20Home-Dex.pdf

RealGenius
09-01-2009, 03:18 PM
As a Black Templar player myself, I'm always very, very, VERY wary of people wanting to do updates. My position has always been this: "If you want 3+ Storm Shields, play Vanilla Marines."

But here's my take on your update:

Get rid of all the DH stuff. It doesn't belong in the BT Codex.
Get rid of all the new stuff you added. Exterminator Cartridge, Assault Spear, etc.
Never, ever should a BT army have wargear that give a psychic power ("Consecrated scrolls") [I almost had to stop reading at this point.]