PDA

View Full Version : Ogres... poor Ogres.

Prometheus
09-06-2009, 01:24 AM
* I didn't intend to be a rant, I think my goal was to ask questions about other Ogre players and how they use thier army, but somewhere I blacked out and when I woke up this was what I had written...*

So I have been playing Fantasy for a few years now (not many I admit) and my first army was Ogres. They were at the time pretty much brand new. I started them as they seemed to have the coolest fluff (background), looked the coolest (as a big guy I can relate :)) and they seemed to be a low model count army (i.e. a high point value per model) army. Then I started playing and it took mea while to get into the groove of Ogres (having played Tyranids for years before in 40K). Then I started noticing that no one else was playing Ogres.

Thats when I released someone at GW dropped the ball somewhere. Now I'm not saying that Ogres can not win, as this is not true I do win about 40% of the time. But that percentage is becuse I play agaisnt Goblin armies, Tomb Kings (without poison bows) and Brets alot. Pretty much I have found that Ogres are either the worst Army GW makes or the second (its either them or Brets).

I havce read alot of fan posts out thier about tactics ranging from "No Armour & lots of Great Weapons" to " lots of Armour & only Hand Weapons" and none really work well. It seems that every time somthing seems to work a rule in the Ogre Kingdoms codex stops it from being effective. It is as if GW sat down to write the book and ever time someone had a good idea, someone else yelled out "BROKEN!" so they set up another rule to stop it from working, unfortunitly they over stopped it and now it doesn't work at all.

If you have never played agaisnt Ogres I will give you a few example of what I mean, if you know about how bad Ogres are you can skip this part...