PDA

View Full Version : \o/ N00bz-R-Us \o/

Dont-Be-Haten
09-03-2011, 07:35 PM
Hey Fantasy lovers, Dont-Be-haten here. I'm completely new to Warhammer Fantasy Battle, I'm just now starting to get into the game, and although This is a toss up between general discussion and tactics I'm going with the latter.

So a little back story before I start, I was in my local hobby/comic shop about two weeks ago and I foudn this awesome game being played Warhammer 40k, and althuoght it was cool and all I was simply awe-struck by the fantasy pieces and just had to check it out. One thing about me is that I research things before I actually play or get into them. So I ran the numbers and the BEST decision was to go with the Island of Blood Battle Chest, because it came with two armies alongside the army I really want to play which is the High Elves. I did some research on their back story and just fell in love with them. The skaven look awesome too; but I think I would become the crazed blood thirsty general that just throws units away as cannon fodder for my plague mortars or lighting attacks xD. So here are my first questions and I'll leave it at this for now.

1. Some people swear by the Sea Gaurd, and personally I just don't see how the massive points for them are worth it when spearmen and archers can be fielded in doubles for the price of Sea Gaurd with Shields.

2. With the new rules on War Machines are the Bolt Throwers really worth fielding at 100 points a piece with only having 2 wounds? I mean I guess its more balanced since Bolt Throwers can't Misfire.