PDA

View Full Version : High Elves 2,000 points

Bub the zombie
09-05-2011, 09:21 PM
so i was just wondering what special units would be best in a 2000 point army, besides the swordmasters of hoeth. im planning on getting more spearmen so i should have a 10 wide 3 rank block of them. in conjunction i would also like to hear some of your guy's favorite lores for mages.

Dont-Be-Haten
09-06-2011, 04:36 AM
Hey Bub! I'm extremely new to fantasy and table-tops in general but for the Helves, to my understanding your absolute best special unit is Phoenix Guard. You can field about 20 with full command for around 300ish points. They have Halberds so they get +1 str to their attacks, they are heavily armored, with shields, cause fear, and have a 4+ Ward Save, making their stay in battles almost certain to the very end.

It is the ultimate Anchor unit (or anvil depending on how you go about things) and they are the best at hiding your Lords and Mages in a block of them. From the batreps/lists I've seen most people who play competitively push their core to the minimum to pump more units into the phoenix guard. The next special unit that I've been encouraged to play by some, discouraged to play by others are 5 Dragon Princes and take them in Naked, because they already have Dragon Armor, with a 2+ armor save, and they are immune to flaming attacks, that being said, they are rather nasty from what I've seen, but are fielded at a very very high point cost. I think 5 = 400ish points @full command? I can't remember right off hand and a more seasoned player can tell you otherwise.

I don't know if you're wanting to play competitively, or just for the lulz; but White Lions of Chrace are very strong also, with the white lion banner making them stubborn, they have an extra resistance to ballitics, and the woodsman special ability, I really really like their models, but have yet to actually incorporate them into my army.