PDA

View Full Version : Removing paint from a bit mess up

Tetz
09-07-2009, 06:47 PM
Okay quick summary. I made a bone headed mistake and quickly realized that I am still new to the painting game :p

I ended up painting my marines, everything was fine then I went to put my clear coat on them to protect them and all went well until the clear coat dried. Once I saw the outcome I took a look at my clear coat and realized I bought enamel instead of acrylic. Whoops... yeah seriously you would think I would have paid more attention, I guess I need to take the same advice I give my kids.

Anyways, now I'm stuck with this group of marines and my terminator lord and they look frosty. They're still playable but is there any way I could remove all of the paint and clear coat from these plastic models, but still keep the models from being ruined? Then I could just repaint them and all would be well.

Here's a couple of pictures so you can see how a new guy looks without the clear coat, and then the guy on the left with the clear coat.

Thanks.

http://www.rawkdesign.com/warhammer/100_1275.jpg

http://www.rawkdesign.com/warhammer/100_1277.jpg

Lore
09-07-2009, 06:50 PM
I've found nail varnish remover is great for stripping paint without damaging the plastic. White spirits on the other hand can soften and warp the plastic. I lost a SM Commander that way. :(

Aenir
09-07-2009, 06:53 PM
maybe its just that picture, but i think the grainy/frosty look goes well for chaos marines IMO :)

simple green usually works well

Tetz
09-07-2009, 06:57 PM
Ha just realized my title was a "bit" mess up instead of a big mess up. Oh well.

Nail polish remover and simple green huh. I will give them both a shot. I'll raid my wife's cabinets for some nail polish remover and hit the store for simple green.

Should I just soak the model, do you just soak it overnight or is it really a "depends" sort of thing?

Lore
09-07-2009, 07:14 PM