PDA

View Full Version : What army should I play, and why?

Veggieburrger
09-20-2009, 10:47 PM
I'm new to games-worksop products, but i've found myself jumping head first into all of their games, but fantasy has me a little stumped...all of the armys look cool. I mean really cool, and I was wanting opinions on which armies are the best and why? I know games workshop has little write ups of each, but I was hoping for a less...marketing based, I guess, descprion of each one?

If someone could help explain the diffrences in the races for a total nub, I'd really love that...

Thanks guys.

Drazhar
09-21-2009, 07:12 AM
It helps a lot if you make a checklist of what you expect from an army. I'm talking whatever crosses your mind here, from your very first model to tournaments and anything in between. There is no such thing as 'best' or 'proper' army.

What I can tell you for sure - don't look at stats and 'power' of the armies. These are very lousy criteria to pick the items you will spend quite a lot of money and time on. The rules change much more often than the models. Pick the models you like, then ask yourself what you want from your army. Do you want hordes of troops or do you want an small, elite force? Cavalry or footsloggers? Monsters or mediocrity? Without knowing what you want there is little help anybody can offer in this matter.

Lord Azaghul
09-21-2009, 08:18 AM
So with whatever you want to paint, and the playing skills will come after that. GW releases books often enough the most of the time no army stays on top terribly long.

wittdooley
09-21-2009, 10:11 AM
I have to second Drazha; if you can answer his questions and let us know what type of army you want to field, we can direct you to some that would suit you. As a starter, here is a general outline of the type of army that fields well with each faction:

Bretonnia - Cav Based, Good Magic
Empire - Pretty well rounded, specialized infantry, diverse magic