180p

Hellhound w/ hull heavy bolter – 130p

Basilisk – 125p

Leman Russ Demolisher
Lascannon
Multi-melta sponsons
210p

Army total 1500 points

Tactics: Castle formation w/ Bassie, missile launchers, HQ. Squad "Alpha" to cover in front. HQ to give orders, Lord Commie to ensure morale and orders get through. Fire-discipline at scariest target!

Hellhound, Demo and Chimera w/ flamers in opponents face w/ squad "Bravo" to shield assaults. Vets and Storm Troopers in reserve. Storm Troopers take out armour, vets go for objective, take out armor if needed.

Now, I am n00b at this and need gaming input (have a tourney coming up...). All comments are appreciated, both on list and tactics!

Be well! :)

DoctorEvil
10-17-2009, 07:26 AM
OK, I'm not a tournament expert, but here's my opinion on the list.....

I like the Demolisher & Hellhound. There solid picks. Sponsons on the Demolisher....You'll be told to drop them. They're expensive and not as effetive if the tank needs to move. But if you're plan is to keep the tank static, then I don't see the harm. Hellhound with Hvy Bolter is my standard load-out, but adding a Multi-Melta instead is a very attractive option as it then turns the HH into a possible anti-vehicle as well as anti-infantry option.

I like the Veteran Squad configurations. Most people will tell you that the Power Fists aren't worth, and they're correct. Guard lose in Assault to almost every army. Personally, I like a Power Fist or two in my army, because it just makes me sleep better at night thinking I'm kinda of a threat in Assault :)

I don't like a single Basilisk. In general a single Bassie just ends up being not terribly effective. They just seem to be more of a threat when there are more of them. I'd either take a 2nd one or drop it.