PDA

View Full Version : Dark Angels Power Armor

Darkriver
08-24-2013, 10:22 PM
This is my Dark Angels project that I've been working on in time for Dragon Con. Robe will hopefully be finished within the next day or two. Will be adding a hood and some details (including red emblem stitched to front of robe, purity seals, etc) to this also. This is my first time playing with this and have learned tons on how to improve for next time. Comments and critiques always welcome. Enjoy!

SotonShades
08-25-2013, 04:33 AM
Great work mate. Do you have a backpack for it as well?

Couple of critiques; the body lacks bulk, which is something that is always difficult to get right on SM costumes (after all, we are simply not as bulky a 7'+ transhumans...). You need something to cover your neck, could literally extend just into the helmet/below the neckline of your robes, but it currently looks odd with exposed flesh. Maybe buy a cheap wetsuit of ebay and just use the shoulder and up? Lastly, the bolter looks very flat with the solid block colours. Either give it a coat of gloss varnish (probably looking more at stuff you'd use to make furniture than miniatures) or add some variation to the colour. Dust, wear and tear marks, battle damage and ornamentation such as kill markings or devotional iconography (especially good for DA) are great for that kind of thing :)

Hope that helps, looking forward to seeing more pics with the details you've all ready talked about.

Darkriver
08-25-2013, 07:55 AM
Soton, thanks for the tips. There are several good ideas I had not thought about yet.