PDA

View Full Version : Painting Help PLZ!!!

tfkimmortal
09-11-2013, 06:21 PM
First off i apologize if this is the wrong place for this, but this is driving me crazy!

Anywho, i recently started painting my orks(yay!) and am loving the it, death skulls are so much fun to paint, but i have a lil problem now. They are no longer coming out the way they were. the first thing i painted were 20 Nobz, and they all look fantastic, an one of the key features of them is they all look a bit wet, like the shade didnt just dry out, it filled in the lines and cracks and leave most o the model generally looking...glossy i guess? but since ive finished them ive done a boy nob a biker nob and a couple of looters and they just keep drying out and looking dull same paints same techniques I even went out and bought new shades since i figured i might have diluted the old ones too much but no, it is still happening. People have suggested to use actual gloss to get the look but it doesnt work. I'm not sure what is wrong, its kinda upsetting, even my resin painboy looks amazing but these other things are just making me sad, and would like to what ppl have to say before i keep painting these, cuz too much shade and stuff ruins them.

I would put pictures of my stuff but i cant find a way to upload them :(

Wolfshade
09-12-2013, 02:36 AM
I really don't kn9ow what to suggest, it could be that the plastic is slightly different, or it still had some of its grease to release it from the mould so it looks damp.
You might try using an ink rather than a wash as they retain a higher "gloss" to the finish.

Psychosplodge
09-12-2013, 03:51 AM
Think you have to up the post count to add images :D

Kaptain Badrukk
09-12-2013, 03:55 AM
Atmospheric conditions can change the way your paint dries too, you turned the heating or aircon on?

tfkimmortal
09-13-2013, 05:24 PM