PDA

View Full Version : GW Love/Hate

Grimwaldo
02-02-2014, 04:17 AM
Recently I was reading a forum called where is the love? It stated (in a nut shell) that we love GW products however hated the company, why was this the situation? After reading the comments I have come to the conclusion that we love GW products however hate the company because GW does not listen to their community.
I had been buying and playing GW games for over 26 years when I first came across the Warhammer 40k rouge trader. I loved it from the get go. I like the space opera grimdark and all it had to offer.
Now I am selling everything that I have collected over that period of time and am turning my back to the company. Why?GW could not care less about their community or what we have to say about the game.
I have played multiple systems from warmahoards to dystopian wars and have found that both Privateer Press and Spartan games are much more receptive to there community. They both have open betas and welcome input and will change rule sets based upon community input.
GW on the other hand keeps their community at arms length and treats their rule sets like state secrets. This has harmed them in many ways. GW does not understand the community and cannot know what they want. If they were to ask for the community to participate in rules testing and input, then they could produce a line of models that people would be excited about. This would also spread the word about fantastic new product and how it would work in your army.
People would PRE-order modles they were excited about! This would Tell GW what kinds of product people want and also let then know what models to produce more of so that they can keep sales up. Most major corporations already do this to try and meet future demands and reduce wasted time and effort into things that people do not want or very few people will buy.