PDA

View Full Version : A "GW Manager" Asks for Questions

Bigred
02-04-2014, 07:50 PM
This is quite the interesting thread (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?389018-Im-a-gw-manager-ask-me-anything)over on Warseer.

The thread opens so innocently:

Im a gw manager ask me anything
I run one of the one man stores, ask me anything. Unfortunately I cant post proof because itll get traced back to me and we cant participate on forums

Then the first round of questions gets answered and its off to the races...

I've got a question to start you off. With all the recent talk of profits being down and the backlash against GW pricing and general doom mongering (on this and other forums), has their been any acknowledgment/acceptance that things are taking a turn for the worst from your superiors? Or is it just business as usual; "go sell those Dwarves".

Profits are down because we closed all the bunkers and big 4 man mall stores, however our costs are also down which in corporates eyes is better because it allows us to expand our brick and mortar stores which can saturate more and more communities. Honestly from my personal experience the only grumblings about prices come from the older players, newer players seem to have no problem with it. I did however ask when I was hired what the deal was with the price increases and apparently they had done a bad job of matching prices with inflation. So the box that mad them $30 dollars in 5 years ago money was only making them $25 dollars now. Which seems small but when you consider that is a 15% drop in profit per box it really hurts the bottom line and it is a business that answers to share holders they had to do the price increases. HOWEVER the new policy appears to be "hide the price increases in the releases" as opposed to "that 30$ box is now $40" which IMO works way better for me because its easier to justify a brand new plastic kit being $40 then the same old sculpts.