PDA

View Full Version : Is the Iron Hands FNP6+ Any good?

Gryphon
10-05-2014, 09:19 AM
Hi Everyone,
I got a question to pose to you all, and wondered what your thoughts were. I am relatively new to 40k. I have only been playing for a few years now, and for the majority of that time have been playing with Iron Hands Chapter Tactics. What I have been seeing is that the FNP6+ has not been a factor in any of my games. It can be annoying at times, especially with an HQ with the Gorgon's Chain, but that is all. Has anyone else felt this? Do you wonder why GW even bothered giving them FNP in the first place? Has it been just the IWIND that has any bearing on the games you play? I'd like to know.

I have been toying with the idea in my meta, with trying out FNP5+ army wide, or with a unit or two to see how it plays out. A friend of mine is criticizing me for changing official rules while most are non-committal about the whole thing. I love Iron Hands and don't want to change chapter tactics just because I am having some difficulty with them. Has anyone else tried an rule changes. If not, how did you capitalize on the FNP? What ways have you found effective, other than placing everyone on a bike? Please let me know. Thanks for all your opinions everyone!

Charon
10-05-2014, 09:56 AM
FnP and IWND are HUGE.
Its about the only "save" you are permitted to roll together with another save. Also as SM are T4 or even 5 its quite hard to get rid of their FnP too.
The character with Gorgons Chain on a Bike with artificer armor and a thunder hammer (and possibly the Warlord Trait number 3) is a huge pain in the *** as he sits on S8, concussive backed up by 2+/3++/4+ Fnp and Eternal Warrior. There is not much which can kill him and in return a great many things he can kill without having to worry about getting wounded.

Macharius
10-05-2014, 11:28 AM