PDA

View Full Version : Learning to fly - a Cadets guide to the glorious Imperial Navy

Mr Mystery
10-07-2014, 02:15 PM
How do?

So we don't actually have one of these threads so far, and it's high time we had one.

Aiming for beginner level stuff, rather than the equally impressive and terrifying level you find elsewhere.

Any all advice required and welcome though - from those difficult first purchase recommendations (not just for the ships, but the cards you feel are essential), up to the pitfalls and perks of each ship.

As a NooB myself, I don't have a great deal to contribute at this point - but hope to get a few more missions under my belt in the very near future. Having said that, I can wax lyrical about the TIE Phantom...

TIE Phantom - reputedly one of the hardest ships to master, thanks to it's (so far) unique Cloaking Device, and in particular the elite Pilot 'Echo', who can pull off all sorts of shenanigans. Now despite being a NooB, I've had great success with this slippery devil thanks to a simple maxim (say it with me now!) "There's no accounting for stupid".

I use him like Johnnie Cochran uses the Chewbacca defence, i.e. - Look at the monkey, look at the monkey. Total distraction tactics up the wazoo. Have no master plan for him/her* (can't find info on them!). Just fly around, cloaked and looking menacing. And never, ever leave your Hanger without an Advanced Cloaking Device. To be able to fly, barrel roll, decloak, dakka/pew pew*, and then cloak again is priceless, and ensures your dude/lady* is never caught with their pants down. And if you can, always go for those hilarious Range 1 attacks - 5 Attack Dice - they don't like it up 'em Lord Vader, they don't like it up 'em.

And whilst your opponent is stressing about exactly where Echo is, and what he/she is looking to knack, you get a much wider play with your other ships (I went with 2 Fighters, 2 Interceptors), making the entire list that much more potent.