PDA

View Full Version : Playying against Necrons in Apocalypse

Loken
02-06-2010, 11:45 PM
OK, I have a 3,000 point Apoc game tomorrow against a Necron player. I am a 12 year vet, but almost NEVER play against Necrons. I play Marines and will be taking a Deathwing heavy Marine force tomorrow (20 twin Lightning Claw guys +). A few questions, and any of your comments are welcome and appreciated.

QUESTIONS:

1) If you kill a Necron Lord with a Ressurrection Orb, does he get to use that Orb on himself the beginning if his turn?

2) Do all "We'll Be Back" rolls happen simultaneously? Meaning, if I killed 10 warriors with the Lord, and the Lord fails his WBB roll, do the Warriors still get their WBB roll? I assume the answer is yes.

3) What are considered "Necrons" for phase-out?

4) Are there any special rules for Necrons for Apoc I should know about? My opponent claimed Phase Out doesn't apply in Apoc and I called bull**** on that already.

LIST:

I am thinking of taking:

Warhound Titan with 2 Laser Blasters (Will set him up in the corner so limit ability to deep strike near him).

5 squads of Deathwing, 3 all LC and 2 mixed.

Belial

2 Chaplains

2 Ironclads in Lucius Pattern Drop Pods so they assault when they land. To take out Monoliths or his Pylon.

Deathstorm Drop Pod

Still have 500 points. Thinking of taking some tac squads in Drop Pods to get a "Strike Eagle" Formation and thus Careful Planning.

TACTICS:

Well, from what I read online I should:

1) Kill all Necrons so they phase out.

2) Take no vehicles

What else? And thanks in advance.

Alec

WH40K_Fight_Club
02-07-2010, 12:17 AM
1) Yes. Pg 13 of the codex, the last paragraph, second to last sentence of necron lord states: ..Unless it or another necron lord with in 6''... It being the key word.

2.) Yes, if the Lord has a orb, and I don't see fielding a lord with out one.

3) HQ: Lord. Troops: Warriors. Elites: Immortals, Flayed ones. fast attack: Wraiths, Destoryers. Heavy Support: Heavy Destoryers.