PDA

View Full Version : the metagame, what are the lists?

cypher623
02-22-2010, 04:45 PM
I have read several posts on this website where various people have commented on the fact that certain armies only have one or two playable builds. For example, someone posted that there was only one successful build for warriors of chaos; one for dwarves; one for empire.

I play the tournament circuit; traveling to about twelve indies per year, yet I have no idea what builds these guys are referring to. Can anyone help me with this?? Even if you know about the one strong WOC build that would help. Which armies are metagame type armies?

Nikephoros
02-22-2010, 06:04 PM
Not meaning to be unconstructive, but if you go to that many tournaments every year how can you not know the popular lists?

fe2mike
02-23-2010, 07:32 AM
As I am new to tournament play, I would love to know this as well, in order to know what kinds of lists to expect, if I was to go to a larger event.

Kahoolin
02-23-2010, 09:01 AM
People who say there is only one successful build are talking a load of bunk. If you study tourneys, good tournament players manipulate the metagame by taking unexpected builds and practicing with them.

Internet loudmouths confuse obvious gimmicks with powerful builds. Taking a gimmicky list will enable you to smash new players, but you will more than likely lose to an experienced tournament player using an unorthodox list that they have practiced with.

LoverzCry
02-23-2010, 09:17 AM
Well, I wouldn't say that this is true to the point. Every army can win, and every army had good units. It doens't really matter how you build your army, it's how you play it. Let me give you Fritz for example. He plays squishy eldar, with a speed-based build (majority of the time), but he also has a Harlequin based army. The speed-dar use cover saves and mobility to outmaneuver the enemy. And the Harlequins, which are super-squishy, he uses a more reserved strategem to get their full effect.