PDA

View Full Version : Good starting army?

Rafe_131
08-05-2009, 12:50 PM
Hey all. I've been playing 40k for a couple of years now, and have been toying with the idea of getting into WoTR to swith things up a little. Any suggestions for a solid start to an army that won't bust my piggy bank?

Thanks in advance for any help!

iamaddj
08-05-2009, 02:10 PM
Gondor is a pretty good starting army, they have all the basic troops in plastic and can build a very flexible force, with some allies from the Forgotten Kingdoms list they can do just about anything and have a good choice of heroes, with a lot of options for expansion (fiefdoms, Arnor, etc) when you feel like it.

For sheer cheepness Elves will be best they have a good selection of plastics and are the most expensive army point wise, so the fewest models, but I think they are not as good a choice for beginners.

If you are looking at an Evil army I would suggest Fallen Realms, lots of good plastics and a solid army, also Mumkas, how do you beat that?

Dragon Knight Of Rhun
08-05-2009, 02:40 PM
If you are looking at an Evil army I would suggest Fallen Realms, lots of good plastics and a solid army, also Mumkas, how do you beat that?

There is no better in my opinion. They have a good portion of plastics, relatively inexpensive compared to other forces (except like Elves) and they got some really nice units. I swear by The Fallen Realms of Man.

Rafe_131
08-06-2009, 06:46 AM
Cool. Thanks guys. I'm leaning more towards a Gondor/Arnor army for their flexibility....and they seem like an easy army to pick up on. (rules, abilities, etc.)

Dragon Knight Of Rhun
08-06-2009, 03:34 PM
Cool. Thanks guys. I'm leaning more towards a Gondor/Arnor army for their flexibility....and they seem like an easy army to pick up on. (rules, abilities, etc.)