PDA

View Full Version : 1/285 scale FoW

Blackcloud6
09-30-2015, 07:31 AM
I have a bunch of 1/285 WWII miniatures. I used to play Command Decision but have not done so in years. I did get the WWII Battlefront a couple of years ago but they didn't grab me as they are the same scale as CD 1 tank = platoon.

Flames of War has always intrigued me a bit but when I see it played, but it looks like Napoleonics with tanks as everything seems jammed together due to the size of the models. That sort of turned me off from it.

Well, recently I found out that Battlefront Miniatures sells a small copy of the rulebook for $1-15 so that got me interested. Yesterday I discovered that they have an app for FoW on the iPad so I downloaded it and one can buy the rules for just $6.99, so I figured 'what the heck,' this way I can see if I will like the rules and can try it out with 1/285 scale stuff. (I'm a model builder and a WH40K player so I don't feel like starting out on another large money and time expenditure to build up to play FoW and I have stacks of 1/35 scale models and WH40K stuff as it is).

I scanned through the rules last tonight,; they don't seem that difficult. So maybe next week, after I clear my current solitaire board game from the table, I may try the rules out.

So, what are your opinions of FoW? What about playing it solitaire? What about using the 1/285 scale minis instead of 15mm?

Cleon
10-01-2015, 10:36 AM
I'm quite into FoW at the moment, although certainly still learning.

I'm not sure on playing it Solitaire beyond working out small unit interactions as to me not knowing what the other side is planning is part of the fun, but if that's something you do I suppose it'll work as well as any other game.