PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about WHFB

RampageRabbit
03-28-2010, 01:02 PM
I realize that there are several "Hi, I'm new to WHFB." posts but I've read through most of them and found my questions unanswered and so I decided to make my own post.I'm thinking about either playing WHFB or 40k and because of money and time I probably do not have the money to do both, which puts me in a position of having to choose one, which is why I'm posting on BoLS in the first place.

As of now I am completely torn between the two. I like both universes equally well and both have armies that the other doesn't really have an analog for and who I really like (Nids in 40k and Skaven in WHFB). What is going to break the tie for me, is a question concerning balance. After reading through the BoLS forums I get the feeling that unless you're playing a very specific list in very specific armies, you will probably not be winning in WHFB, at least not in any really competitive environment. I want the opinions of you BoLS posters on this and I'd also like to know which armies are the metagame ones, mainly because I have a feeling they aren't the ones I'm interested in.

Also, which game would be less cost intensive? Not that I expect to get into this hobby cheaply but it is a factor.

I'm sorry this is so long winded, but let me thank you in advance for your opinions and thoughts.

fuzzbuket
03-28-2010, 01:36 PM
nids are cheaper but beware painting too many gaunts/stealers and fex's will get you burnt out and you will hate painting :(

but still theres a LOt of modeling challenges in nids

Gnoblar with Pointy Stick
03-30-2010, 05:12 PM
I've always found myself spending less money on Fantasy than 40k. I don't know if that's based in anything other than the particular armies I play, but there you have it.