PDA

View Full Version : New SM needs help

shesheyan
04-07-2010, 06:20 PM
Hello!

Can't seem to secure victory with 1500 all comers list. Dire need of suggestions. tx

175 Kantor
315 Sternguard x8 [6 CM30 / 2 MG10 / PF25] +Rhino [EA15]

245 Tactical x10 [PF25 / FL 0 / MM 0] + Rhino [EA15]
245 Tactical x10 [PF25 / FL 0 / MM 0] + Rhino [EA15]

035 Drop Pod [ML20]
180 Venerable Dreadnought [EA15]

115 Vindicator
165 Predator [TWLC45 / LC60]
----

Lord Azaghul
04-08-2010, 07:11 AM
I'll start off by saying I'm not too experienced with SM, I'm just starting them myself. But I am good at killing SM, and I know what causes me problems.

Mutlimeltas on your 10man squads really aren't worth it, you've effectively limited to 12" Pretty much ANY of the other choices are better. Are you combat squading?

Pedro and those stern guard need to be a drop pod

Ven dread is really expensive, dropping him down to a reqular dread with multimelta, cc weapon and extra armour frees up a few points.

Pred. That's a lot of points wrap up @ 1500. Taking it down to just the TL LC will also save you a few points.
Between that and the dread, you should be able to get an out flanking scout squad, to come in near pedro's drop pod.

04-08-2010, 08:40 AM
For 200 points, you can get an ironclad dread with two HK missiles and a meltagun/hvy flamer in a drop pod. That saves you about 15 points over the ven dread. Personally, I never thought ven dreads were worthwhile, even though they look solid on paper. For that ironclad, you could either take away the missiles to round him out to 180 or give him frag launchers, which are actually really nice.

As for your pred, it's a lot of lascannons, but you need to be sitting still to fire them all. Plus, anytime you're glanced, you're probably not going to be firing at all. I say, grab another vindicator.

Then, as mentioned, you can bring in Pedro with sternguard in drop pod with some combi-meltas so any scary vehicle can be pretty safely targetted. :)