PDA

View Full Version : Completely New Player needs Advice

RampageRabbit
07-22-2010, 12:49 AM
Ok, so I'm completely new to WHFB but I'm looking to start when the new starter set gets released since Skaven have been an army I've always wanted to play. I went ahead and picked up the 8th Edition Rulebook(I love this thing) and the Skaven Armybook.

I've decided that I either want to play a Clan Skryre themed list or a Clan Pestilens list. I've come up with a Skryre list after attempting to read through every Forum Topic about Skaven on here, Dakka and BoLS and distill the wisdom within the aforementioned topics.

Here's the link: http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0As...uthkey=CJ3awtcG

I'm completely open to advice, especially since I have 0 idea what I'm doing with list building.

The other guy
07-23-2010, 06:59 AM
I don't play skaven, and don't own the book. I also cannot access your army list (I suggest posting it in a similar way to others on the site). This in mind, i will give new army advice to you. I would give this same advice to anyone starting a fantasy army right now.

1 - Set yourself achievable targets. Aim to have 1000pts bought, made and painted, instead of writing a 4000pt wish-list and buying yourself £300 worth of rare units and a battalion box. Reward yourself with the next 1000pts, only when the first is done.

2 - Write yourself an army list for your own usage. Don't spend 100 hours online trying to get other users to tweek you the most uber army ever. If you enjoy war machines, take lots of war machines. If you enjoy archers, take archers. If you love the model, take it. This is going to be your army, not ILUVFANTASY@YARHOO's army. The users on this and many other sites will be here to advise you, but we are not the ones who will paint and play your army.