BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guardians

Chaplain

Default Guardians

After playing many games with eldar and my guardians being completley anihallated I have concluded that I need to buy a warlock. However I was also thinking about bulking out my squads to 15 man a squad and getting some scatter platforms aswell as my BL. I have to admit; when it comes to guardians I am a noob. Any tips on how I can use them more effectivley?
    Master Bryss and I build conversions IN A SHED. WITH CLIPPERS N' GLUE!
    Hi, I'm Titans newest recruit. PREPARE TO BE PURGED!!!

Storm Guardians would give them the extra CC attack as they have pistols and close combat weapons. But Guardians are a fragile unit. Dire Avangers make a slightly more sturdy troops choice. Or Rangers. Or Guardian jet bikes.

Increasing their squad size and giving them a warlock just strikes me as "throwing good money after bad." I'd swap them out for other troops types. Dire Avengers are shootier, Jetbikes are more mobile and have higher saves. The weapons platforms are nice, but you have other aspect warriors that can fill whatever role you wanted that platform for.

Guardians defender are our worst troop choice. yes they can hang back and hold an objective but any thing assulty or flamey heads your way say good bye.
    but if your determined to get them to work for defender. embolden is cheap helps keep them in the game. can also help re psycics is you join a far seer. Don't bother with it if you include a avatar. Destructor not worth it if unit is on foot. Conceal is useful for holding objectives in the open but cover is usually plentiful and gives a better save. enhance only worth it on storm guardians.
    Transport guardians could work how ever dire avengers work better either cheaper (5man for scoring tank effect) or more devastating ( 10 man blade storm). Storms guard with either flamers or fusion guns also work better.