BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Chapter-Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    West Melbourne, Florida U.S.
    Posts
    2,192

    Default Rules Question - Assault Marine

    I don't know if I am doing this right.

    My Assault Marine has Swift Attack and Two Weapon Fighting (Melee).

    Do I get three attacks, but with two of them modified by a -10? This is how we are playing it, and just wanted to know if i was doing it right.

    Two Weapon lets you attack with two weapons at -20(-10 for Marines) penalty with each attack.

    Swift Attack allows you to gain an additional attack. No modifiers are mentioned.

    Is everything correct?

    How do you guys load out/build out your Assault Marines?

  2. #2

    Default

    EDIT: Durp! The big ol' explanation I had is meaningless! Errata has changed it.

    Yes, as it turns out, that's how it works.

    EDIT EDIT: Damn you, Errata.

    The Errata isn't clear on this despite a full page of examples trying to clarify it but it is presently unknown if you take the penalty for two-weapon wielder to one attack with each weapon, or to every attack in the action. I lean towards every attack, because the text says "You take a -20% penalty to attack with each weapon...", but good men can differ on the resolution. Oi, vey. Black Industries. I love your ideas, but I'm glad you have Fantasy Flight doing the heavy lifting nowadays.
    Last edited by Freefall945; 10-30-2010 at 04:16 PM.
    Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers - all of which are true and terrifying to know.

  3. #3
    Chapter-Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    West Melbourne, Florida U.S.
    Posts
    2,192

    Default

    Thank you for the help, much appreciated
    40k Dark Eldar HORDES - Legion of Everblight / INFINITY - Yu Jing, HaqqIslam

  4. #4

    Default

    No problemo, bro!

    Interesting side note, the errata is very clear in pointing out what seems somewhat arbitrary to me, but is worth mentioning - Swift Attack and Lightning Attack both allow you to make extra attacks with one weapon, where Two Weapon Wielder grants you an attack with an additional weapon at the cost of penalizing the weapons in both hands.

    That is to say, an assault marine with a chainsword and powerfist might, with Lightning Attack and Two Weapon Wielder, make three attacks with the fist, and one with the sword; or three with the sword, and one with the fist. He may not, however, make two attacks with each.

    Doubt that'll affect you now, but I felt I'd throw it in as it might come up later for you. My Guardsman in Dark Heresy is brawling around with a Power Sword and Power Fist. My previous modus operandi was to make attacks with my Power Sword until I missed, and therefor made use of the free reroll offered to me by the Blademaster talent, before finishing up with Power Fist. No more!
    Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers - all of which are true and terrifying to know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •