BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Battle-Brother

Default Wanted: Advice/Technique on painting halved (or quartered) power armor...

So I have a shiny copy of IA:9, The Badab War part 9 in front of me. And my FLGS is considering a mini campaign. So flipping through, I decide I like the idea of the Marines Errant. But, I'm a little nervous as well - I'm a thoroughly average painter - not horrible, but not that great either. To be blunt, the painting of the halved breastplate/helmet/backpack has me concerned, because I don't always have the steadiest hands...

So I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how do to this, or any clever techniques. Obviously one can just freehand it... but perhaps someone out there has some ideas. Can you mask it with tape or tac (seems a bit small and irregular to do that...but maybe...).

Thanks for any advice!

-- Andy

Chapter-Master

Post a pic of what you mean?
    40k Dark Eldar HORDES - Legion of Everblight / INFINITY - Yu Jing, HaqqIslam

Battle-Brother

[url]http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Marines_Errant[/url]

Half white, half blue. Just wondering if there's any trick to painting that other than freehanding...

Veteran-Sergeant

Quote Originally Posted by Kuhlbert View Post
    So I have a shiny copy of IA:9, The Badab War part 9 in front of me. And my FLGS is considering a mini campaign. So flipping through, I decide I like the idea of the Marines Errant. But, I'm a little nervous as well - I'm a thoroughly average painter - not horrible, but not that great either. To be blunt, the painting of the halved breastplate/helmet/backpack has me concerned, because I don't always have the steadiest hands...

So I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how do to this, or any clever techniques. Obviously one can just freehand it... but perhaps someone out there has some ideas. Can you mask it with tape or tac (seems a bit small and irregular to do that...but maybe...).

Thanks for any advice!

-- Andy