BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Default Just starting out... help

Hi guys and gals, im just starting out in the 40k world and have decided I want an imperial guard army, I also want them and my list to theme around engineers as I am currently an army engineer myself and love the idea, ok so here is my 1st shot at a list... let me know what you guys think

HQ:
    Techpriest enginseer, 5 servitors, 2 plasma cannons - 180

Elites:
    Psyker battle squad, +5 sanctioned psykers, chimera, heavy bolter, heavy bolter, extra armour - 180
    stormtrooper squad, +5 stormtroopers, power weapon - 175

Troops:
    Veteran squad, power weapon, missile launcher, Forward sentries - 125

Fast attack:
    3 Armoured sentinels, Lasconnon, 2 plasma cannon - 220
    ventetta gunship - 130

total points = 1385

any help would be great, thanks

Veteran-Sergeant

Quote Originally Posted by Black View Post
    Hi guys and gals, im just starting out in the 40k world and have decided I want an imperial guard army, I also want them and my list to theme around engineers as I am currently an army engineer myself and love the idea, ok so here is my 1st shot at a list... let me know what you guys think

HQ:
    Techpriest enginseer, 5 servitors, 2 plasma cannons - 180
    Not a legal HQ choice, read your codex, if you run it as an auxiliary choice = put in a chimera

Elites:
    Psyker battle squad, +5 sanctioned psykers, chimera, heavy bolter, heavy bolter, extra armour - 180
    stormtrooper squad, +5 stormtroopers, power weapon - 175These are junk for the most part, for 175 you can get a 3 MG vets in a Chimera

Troops:
    Run a regular INF squad if you want HW, that way you can either combine squads or buy HWteams

Fast attack:
    3 Armoured sentinels, Lasconnon, 2 plasma cannon - 220These work better as regular sentinols out flanking for side and rear shots
    ventetta gunship - 130I always add the HB sponcings incase I run out of armor targets

total points = 1385