BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Brother-Captain

Default How emotionally invested in this game are you?

I am not emotionally invested in this game at all. I'll admit that from the start. I only play this game because my friends do. If they were to announce tomorrow they were sick of it and renounced this game forever, every single GW product I own would be on Ebay the following day. I enjoy the game, but I've been playing war games for almost 20 years. I'm not married to this one. I do enjoy painting the minis, but then again I've been painting miniatures for 27+ years. Personally I don't find Citadel minis to be as "stunning" as some people do, although I normally will pay between $25 to $30 for a mini that I would consider stunning. I do find the Eldar (both varieties) to be aesthetically pleasing, but the Orks are comic book caricatures, and the humans (especially the marines) aren't much better. Now honestly, look at this image and tell me you cannot find a little humor in such an itty-bitty head on so huge and misshapen a body.

The art work is top notch, but every time I see this it reminds me of the shrunken head guy.

Recently, I and others have made some statements of fact that have generated a rather unexpected outpouring of angst. Caught by surprise, my knee-jerk reaction was to assume it was either zealotry, obnoxiousness or (in some cases) possible stoogery. Lately it has occurred to me it could be something a bit more primal, akin to the situation where a buddy brings his new girlfriend around to show off, only to hear you say, "Wow ... where did you dig THAT up?"

So ... what's your story? How emotionally committed are you to this game? Is it your passion or just your pass time? Is it your one true love or just something you "hit" whenever you get the itch?

Necron2.0 (a.k.a. me) - "I used to wrestle with inner demons. Now we just sit for tea and scones, and argue over the weather."