BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Removing paint from a bit mess up

Okay quick summary. I made a bone headed mistake and quickly realized that I am still new to the painting game

I ended up painting my marines, everything was fine then I went to put my clear coat on them to protect them and all went well until the clear coat dried. Once I saw the outcome I took a look at my clear coat and realized I bought enamel instead of acrylic. Whoops... yeah seriously you would think I would have paid more attention, I guess I need to take the same advice I give my kids.

Anyways, now I'm stuck with this group of marines and my terminator lord and they look frosty. They're still playable but is there any way I could remove all of the paint and clear coat from these plastic models, but still keep the models from being ruined? Then I could just repaint them and all would be well.

Here's a couple of pictures so you can see how a new guy looks without the clear coat, and then the guy on the left with the clear coat.

Thanks.

Initiate

I've found nail varnish remover is great for stripping paint without damaging the plastic. White spirits on the other hand can soften and warp the plastic. I lost a SM Commander that way.

Librarian

maybe its just that picture, but i think the grainy/frosty look goes well for chaos marines IMO

simple green usually works well

Ha just realized my title was a "bit" mess up instead of a big mess up. Oh well.

Nail polish remover and simple green huh. I will give them both a shot. I'll raid my wife's cabinets for some nail polish remover and hit the store for simple green.

Should I just soak the model, do you just soak it overnight or is it really a "depends" sort of thing?

Initiate