BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default LED mods and their cosmetic value

Are led mods a "cool" thing or do most people choose not to use led off principle, in regards to only using paint to create the effects of lighting? I'm a very serious painter but I have yet to come to a conclusion, and I dont want to go led crazy and ruin a good paintjob. So I am curious to hear your opinion on led mods.

I've seen LEDs work well in a very specific case - involving clear plastic molded around them as a part of the model. Other than those, I haven't seen them used much at all, and I'm not surprised - good lighting effects are surprisingly hard to accomplish with actual lights.

Scout

I have only seen LEDs on vehicles as headlights, on the exhaustionpipes and on the weaponary. It can look cool, but if you put too much on it just looks ridiculous, more like a christmas tree or a cheap toy.
    LEDs for Lightning effects sounds interesting tough.

I saw an awesome setup on a Storm Raven at the last tourney at my FLGS. The paintjob on it wasn't the best, but the lights flashed like a real-life airliner and it turned an otherwise unremarkable model into the talk of the tourney (in a good way).

I've seen a few armies that used LEDs to a greater or lesser effect. Lit Monoliths were fairly common when the Necrons first came out. And I seem to recall a Thousand Sons army in one of the past WDs that featured an LED in each head to light the eyes.

I think the biggest issue, and really this applies to every aspect of modelling an army, is to keep the look of your models consistent. If you want to add LEDs, this will be achieved by planning out the build of your army and individual models.

Best of luck to you with it!

Battle-Brother

I think you do not see LEDs very often because it takes a decent amount of effort, planning, and testing to implement, especially if you want a subdued effect.

Here's two examples: