BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Brother-Sergeant

Default anyone using Vallejo paints?

I've been using GW paints exclusively for many years now. But they don't really make a real space wolves color (by this I mean a mid-tone between shadow & space wolves gray). Turns out Vallejo does. They have a color called blue gray which looks about perfect. I'm wondering if anyone else uses these paints and what you think about them?

Veteran-Sergeant

I've been using them for quite a while now, and pretty much use them interchangeably with the GW paint.
    They mix and flow well, and apply perfectly fine.
    Slight advantage went to them for a long time in some of the weaker GW paints (yellows reds etc) but with foundation paints it's now less pronounced.
    I am not as happy with their washes...
    I am happy with their 'foundation' equivalents, though I don't find them as consistently well color matched.
    "Sometimes I take humor seriously. Sometimes I take seriousness humorously. Either way it is irrelevant"

Brother-Sergeant

Sweet. Well, I'm gonna get the blue gray, and give it a shot.

Brother-Captain

The eye dropper bottles help keep them from drying out over the pots. Plus you get more for your money.

JohnM>

Battle-Brother

Quote Originally Posted by lobster-overlord View Post
    The eye dropper bottles help keep them from drying out over the pots. Plus you get more for your money.

JohnM>
    This is very much true!

VGC/VMC is 17ml compared to GWs 12ml per pot. Add the detail of more dry-out safety of Vallejo and I personally found myself a winner

Anyone using the P3 paints from Privateer Press? How are they?

The Dark Mechanic