BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Battle-Brother

Default Help a noobie with Stegadons

Hello, all....
    I'm fairly new to WFB and Lizardmen, and I could use some help in figuring out how to arm my Stegadon/
    Should I have more than one?
    Should I go with giant blowpipes? The mighty bow?
    Or is the Engine of the Gods the most effective?
    Any help you'd care to give a new Lustrian, I'd appreciate it!
    Thanks,
    Brent

Quote Originally Posted by Brent View Post
    Hello, all....
    I'm fairly new to WFB and Lizardmen, and I could use some help in figuring out how to arm my Stegadon/
    Should I have more than one?
    Should I go with giant blowpipes? The mighty bow?
    Or is the Engine of the Gods the most effective?
    Any help you'd care to give a new Lustrian, I'd appreciate it!
    Thanks,
    Brent
    Treat it like an uber chariot. You'll want to be marching to close in, however while the greatbow has range the bs3 doesn't really make it reliable, at least with the giant blowpipes you get 2d6 shots. Also if you are going to be shooting some of the crew javelins might be in range. But if you are that close you should really be charing and squishing things in melee!

Brother-Sergeant

Treat it like an uber chariot.
    Exactly, this is why you don't want to take the bow. Take a skink priest BSB on an ancient stegadon with the stegadon War Spear. Then add a regular stegadon. I find that is my favorite way to take them. While most builds you can think of will work or have some viability, giving them a shooting attack dissuades you from taking advantage of their greatest strength, which is crushing things. Taking the engine makes an expensive unit more expensive, but if you are not taking a slann, it might be helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by TheCastigator View Post