BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Chaplain

Default Defence Lines Questions

Soooo I figured I should ask these before using my defence lines with quad gun:

Is the quad gun automated or can I fire it using a sister to benefit from her BS, if it is manual fire can it benefit from a faith ability such as the Retributors rending or standard sisters reroll of ones?

I have read and seen a battle report in which a guy uses an Eldar Dark Reaper Exarch to gain 2 shots on an Icarus and use his BS of 5 I didn't exactly understand how as I have little knowledge on ELdar, so basically I'm thinking the quad would work the same and would benefit from faith if fired by a sister benefiting from faith.

Second, does it gain the 4+ cover save from being behind the Aegis Line?
    Battle Sisters Record 2012 2/0/0
    Empire Record 2012 1/0/3

A quad gun deployed as part of an Aegis line is battlefield debris per page 114, meaning it follows the rules and has the profile found on page 105.

As such, the gun can receive cover saves (because it is a "model" per page 105), and is not automated (because it is not an "emplaced weapon;" i.e., it is not part of a building). It can only be fired manually, by a model in base contact (any model - you bought the gun but it isn't "yours" once the game begins; enemy models can use the gun too if they can get to it). Firing the gun is done "instead of" a model's other weapon, though, so any rules that would apply to a model shooting his normal weapon apply to shooting the quad gun as well - faith powers, psychic powers, other special rules - as long as they apply to the model's shooting and not a specific gun.

Chaplain

Question

Quote Originally Posted by Nabterayl View Post
    A quad gun deployed as part of an Aegis line is battlefield debris per page 114, meaning it follows the rules and has the profile found on page 105.