BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Brother-Sergeant

Default The First Heretic

I've been hiding in a hovel for the past six months reading book after book from the Black Library. Right now I'm reading the First Heretic, finishing Storm of Iron and still pondering A Thousand Sons. I had thought that 40k's pathos had reached its pinnacle in the short story The Iron within. And I had thought that The Intellectual limits of the fictional universe had been reached with The Last Church and the seemingly contradictory (though probably deliberate I think they want to be purposely ambiguous so as to inspire our jabbering at each other on these boards) stuff about the saint in the first three books, but The first Heretic.... The implications that this story contains for the universe at large cannot be understated. I look forward to finishing this book, but I already highly recommend it.

Librarian

yep, i loved the first heretic too.

once i had read it i jumped straight to aurelian, do the same if you can..... i know its one of those limited eds but there are ways around that *nudge nudge, wink wink*

my mind was set after reading the books just who was the true driving force behind the entire heresy. the heresy should really be the Lorgarian heresy, not horus.

I've read this series with both excitement and puzzlement. (I've got up to 15 in the series).

I've come to the conclusion that, in actual fact, the Heresy was started by the Emperor himself. I know that's contentious but there are so many hints about his 'real self' and the fact that he made so many gigantic mistakes in his handling of certain things EG. The banning of psykers in the Imperium including Librarians, the humiliation of Magnus at the same time, one of, if not THE most loyal son and of course the further humiliation of Lorgar AND his Legion "KNEEL"!!