BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Battle-Brother

Default My first Leman Russ Project Log

Thought i'd put up a little project log for my first swing at the infamous LRBT. Sorry for the mid-res pictures.

1) Tank was primed black, stencils applied, airbrushed Kemri Brown, more stencils applied, airbrushed Knarloc green then Catachan green. At this point it looks really sterile and high contrast.

2) I applied a "filter". I'm still new at this, but the best way to describe a filter is a glaze of multiple colours mixed into one pot, then applied over everything. It helps to unify the tone of the varying camo colours. In this case, I used a little catchan green, dark yellow (almost brown), glaze medium, water, and flow improver.

3) Next i applied something between a glaze and a wash, using vallejo "smoke" and "black ink" with added glaze medium and very watered down. Vallejo smoke is really cool as it has particulate matter in it that helps to dirty up the tank a little.

4) Next, in prep for using some basic oil paint techniues, i applied a gloss varnish, as it allows oil paints to flow over nicely without disrupting work i've done.

Next step will be the fun part: applying some black and umber oil paints. Black-lining will also be done using black oil paint. More to come.

Librarian

Nice, like the digital camo.
    "STUPIDITY, If your going to do it, go for GOLD!"

Brother-Sergeant

Interesting camo style, you don't see that very often on IG tanks. I like the look and the step-by-step, although I'd personally prefer a denser pattern.

I also suspect that your pictures don't do the effect of all of all the described steps justice.

Battle-Brother

So oil paints really are the fun part. The next part is two steps:
    1) Put little dots of umber anywhere i think muck or grease will accumulate or drip from