BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Default Characters and Ordnance weapons in vehicles

Ok, a few nooby questions regarding vehicles, as I am completely new to 40k (though I know most of the core rules by osmosis and playing fantasy, I know next to nothing about vehicles).

First, if a vehicle is selected as a dedicated transport by a squad, but this squad does not take up all of the transport capacity, can an independent character enter it during the game? If yes, does it matter if the original squad contains any independent characters?

Secondly, if a character in a transport has an ordnance weapon (e.g. a Shokk Attack Gun), can he fire it as well as the vehicle firing its weapons normally (provided it could anyway)?

Thank you, as clarifying these rules will be a great help for me

Currently dont have my book with me so i cannot quote exact pages, but out of my head the answers would be:

Yes, independent character can join a squad to enter the vehicle. The answer is also yes if you meant if the squad was already onboard the transport. And to my understanding, there is no limit how many independent characters can join a single unit (given that the independent character can join unit. - mostly problem from 5th edition, nowadays those tend to be only characters)

Oh and just remember to count the total slots available / needed for models to get aboard, for example ork warboss in mega armor would need two slots, as well as Space Marine terminator captain.