BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Initiate

Default First shot at Competitive IG, 2000 points

I'm new to IG and I would really love your thoughts on my initial list build. Thank you.

HQ

Lord Commissar

Elites

Storm Troopers

5x

Troops

Platoon 1

Platoon Command Squad

Infantry Squad

-grenade launcher

Infantry Squad

Heavy Weapons Team

-3x Lascannons

Heavy Weapons Team

-3x Lascannons

Heavy Weapons Team

-3x Autocannons

Veterans

-3x flamers, 7 shotguns

Veterans

-melta gun

Veterans

-3 plasma guns, 1 plasma pistol

Fast Attack

Vendetta

Vendetta

Valkyrie

-heavy bolters, lascannon, rocket pods

Heavy Support

Leman Russ

-heavy bolter sponsons, lascannon

Leman Russ Executioner

-plasma gun sponsons, lascannon

Ork Allies

Weird boy

Lootas

-13x

Gretchin

10x, 1 Rutherd

Total: 2000

Is the weirdboy worth taking? Or would I be better off dropping the orks and taking a Punisher with Commander Pask to get the anti-infantry fire?

Thank you for your input

It's up to you, honestly. Right now you only have two tanks on the ground. That makes them extra susceptible to anti-tank long-range fire. If you're going to spam infantry and fliers like this, I would take two squadrons of Vendettas with two Vendettas in each squadron instead of the tanks you have (so only two extra Vendettas, one attached to each Vendetta you already have). And with the points you're saving on not taking the tanks, I'd drop the Gretchin and bring Shoota Boyz or bump the Lootas up to 15.