BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Default Eldar Fluff from new codex - anything new?

Is there any new fluff in the Eldar codex? I'm pretty new to the game, but I read through the old codex. I flipped through the fluff in the new, but it seemed to be pretty much the same.

Brother-Captain

Because they have a low birthrate they'll kill a twin so they can make a Wraithknight that can get soulstones for all those infants that aren't happening.

Quote Originally Posted by bfmusashi View Post
    Because they have a low birthrate they'll kill a twin so they can make a Wraithknight that can get soulstones for all those infants that aren't happening.
    You really need to apply to the Four Horsemen of Derailment for that elusive fifth wheel spot.
    "I play Eldar, why? Does GW make any other good armies?"

Quote Originally Posted by Idaho11 View Post
    Is there any new fluff in the Eldar codex? I'm pretty new to the game, but I read through the old codex. I flipped through the fluff in the new, but it seemed to be pretty much the same.
    Well the fluff on Craftworld Altansar has been adjusted slightly to take into account that the 13th Black Crusade is now 'the future' rather than 'the past', and there's obviously new fluff written for the new units, but there's not much overall fluff change from the previous codex.
    There's more new fluff in the Iyanden supplement than there is in the main dex to be perfectly honest.

Veteran-Sergeant

Well I did notice that they did incorporate a few things from the "Path" novel series. They are small details and I can't recall most of them off the top of my head. One thing that I do remember is that they discuss in more detail how Aspect shrines came to be and how they operate. Also the story of Karandras fighting Ahra is fleshed out a little more. As is the determination of what souls get to be wraithguard/lords. Honestly though, most of the "new" fluff is in the Iyanden supplement.