BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    Default Question About Warptime

    I have a Chaos Sorcerer with Warptime that I attach to a squad of marines. In the CSM Codex it reads-

    Warptime
    This power is used at the start of any player's turn. If successful, the psyker may re-roll all rolls to hit and rolls to wound for the entirety of that player's turn.


    I thought this meant that just the sorcerer could re-roll, but one of my friends is convinced that it allows the entire squad to re-roll. Any thoughts/help would be very much appreciated!

  2. #2

    Default

    Since when does "the psyker" mean "the psyker plus any unit he's attached to" ?

  3. #3

    Default

    That's what I thought but I've heard other people talk about this too and never heard anyone resolve the argument. I only re-roll for the sorcerer, just wanted to know if anybody else has seen or does differently.

  4. #4

    Default

    It is no doubt those "other people" have misinterpreted the rule. The text in italic in the rule description on page 88 also states that "...the opportunity to place his attacks with supernatural precision."

    Imagine the bargain when attached to a large squad of berserkers, plague marines or terminators.

    I think Warptime is really worth 25 points on Daemon Princes, sorcerors or whatever. My two nurgle daemon princes with wings and warp time are absolutely killers. I guess Slaanesh could work even better with the high initiative.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ebolus View Post
    Imagine the bargain when attached to a large squad of berserkers, plague marines or terminators.
    I know. That's one of the reasons I was asking. It would be completely ridiculous. A squad of terminators with lightning claw pairs would be re-rolling to hit and to wound. Crazy.

    I play a Demon Prince with warptime in my thousand sons army and its way uber-killy.

  6. #6

    Default

    i too thought at first it would apply to his squad.. heck even made a sorc to lead a squad of lightning clawed termies.. all MOS... of course i was heartbroken when it was pointed out to me i couldnt do it.. sooo, i collapsed on the floor, laying in a puddle of my tears and saliva.. gibbering to myself.. "WHYYY???"

  7. #7

    Default

    How about a thousand sons squad with an aspiring sorceror? Does the whole squad gain the reroll benefit? I ask because this is the way I have played for a while now, and no one has yet to question it.

  8. #8
    Brother-Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Posts
    62

    Default

    phew i thought this thread was gonna be about the debate as to if you can re-roll individual results or have to re-roll all dice.

    ooops

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Latro_ View Post
    phew i thought this thread was gonna be about the debate as to if you can re-roll individual results or have to re-roll all dice.

    ooops
    Well, since you bring it up. I have always re-rolled misses and only the misses. And everyone I know and all rules interpretations on the internet seem to go the same way.

    But: It does not say that I may re-roll all failed rolls to hit and failed rolls to wound for the entirety of that players turn.

    We just have to assume that the text in italic on page 88 is a picture of the RAI (rule as intended):
    The psycher surrounds himself with a dimensional instability, which warps the passage of time and grants the target the opportunity to place his attacks with supernatural precision.

    I don't think the scorceror has supernatural precicion if he has to re-roll all dice.

  10. #10

    Default

    Ebolus, I disagree. The rule specifically states that "... the psyker may reroll all rolls to hit and all rolls to wound for the entirety of the players turn." I think that pretty clearly states that he can reroll both. And the fact that the fluff part of the rule says he has supernatural precision I think means that he is great at not only hitting the opponent but also finding the weak spot, thus representing the reroll for the wound dice also.

    But back to the way warptime effects the squads. Is the verdict out that only the psyker gets the advantage?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •