BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Are your armies painted?

Long before I started playing mini war games, I painted models. I had no idea what some of the models were or what they might be used for, but I purchased all sorts of minis from GW, D&D, Robotech, etc. and painted them up because I enjoyed the crafty part of the hobby.

When I finally got started to actually build an army to play Warhammer, I bought the Wood Elf army box (which was a new release at the time) and slowly painted my minis. My local game store ran a league, so I played with unpainted minis and because I was being careful with each and every model, it took months just to get a rank painted. Now that the mini-wargamming monkey is on my back, I have far more armies/models that I could ever field or paint, but I keep painting away, skipping from game-to-game on a whim.

So far, I've only had three fully painted armies on the table. My Dwarfs, a beastman army that I sold off, and an Ultramarines army that I also sold off.

Currently, most the armies that play in tourneys or leagues at my LGS are not fully painted. There are a couple of hastily base coated armies, a lot of half-painted works in progress and few that just don't want to paint and field bare metal or plastic.

Because I keep skipping around with my painting, I feel like I'm never going to get another army fully painted... How often do you guys have fully painted armies?
    Visit my war gaming blog at: lookoutsir.blogspot.com