BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Chaplain

Default Kinda Scared to start IG...

I have just ordered some upgrade packs from FW for my yet-to-be-started IG army. The reason I have been holding out for so many years to do them is because I fear that once I start, there will just be so much to collect that I will possibly go insane.

Can anybody reinforce the value and rewarding nature of collecting IG, or is it just another habit and I would be better off financially getting into drugs and alcohol?

Brother-Captain

IG is awesome.

Chaplain

I guess that settles it.

GW here I come.

Chaplain

Guard is fun. Here's my experience:

Once you have your basics (which can be a few guys I'll admit...) it's easy to add more.

A minimum platoon, a chimera and a squad of vets is 35 infantry models, 3 HW bases and a tank. That's your first 500 points, roughly, (with a commie lord or psyker) and it seems like a lot compared to a marine army of the same points value. But the thing is, once you've got those 35 dudes and their chimera, you don't need 35 dudes and a chimera for every 500 points after that. I painted my first 500 pts. in a month or two.

All it takes to get to much bigger armies after that is tanks, tanks and more tanks, and maybe some more infantry if you feel like it. And bazillions of guardsmen isn't a problem to collect and paint because if that's what you want it's probably because you LIKE collecting and painting bazillions of guardsmen - and then where's the problem? Mech builds won't be much more model intensive than a marine army, and are competitive.

I'd say guard may take longer to get up and running in the early stages that some other armies, depending on how quickly you build and paint, but it's nothing too serious and after that it's just like any other army.

Librarian