BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Khaine = Khorne

Iron Father

Default Khaine = Khorne

I'm really very new to Eldar, but really loving the army and the background so far. But Khaine is made reference to so many times as an Eldar god, his similarities to Khorne seem to me to be quite relevant. Are they the same being from a different perspective ?
    http://paintingplasticcrack.blogspot.co.uk

Chapter-Master

No, the Eldar gods existed long before the birth of the chaos gods. Khaine isn't as purely violent as Khorne, either. Plus khorne is much more powerful than Khaine was, I believe.
    I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer.

I don't think so, since they operate in different spheres (Khaine now being shards on the mortal plain and Khorne the greatest power in the warp), but there's something of an implied connection, even down to the "bunny ears" headdresses.

If I was asked to write the fluff, I'd probably say that Khaine predated Khorne, and as one of the primary sources of violence for millennia, "shaped" the growing Khorne - like how old fluff said Khorne looked a bit Orky, since Orks are responsible for most of the violence in the galaxy.

Brother-Captain

Since we're talking 40k they are separate entities, but operating in the same sphere. In fantasy it's a little less defined.
    Wolfman of the Horsepack of Derailment
    The artist formerly known as "WTF you can't say that!"

Khaine has similarities with both Khorne and Slaanesh, which is why they fought over his powers. It depends on your view of 40k cosmology and how "real" the events of the Fall are. But Khaine isn't just an aspect of Khorne, there's more to it than that.
    Social Justice Warlord Titan

Librarian

the way i see it, eldar (40k) and elves (WFB) are both selfish and insular societies.