BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Scout

Default Stripping models

Hi guys im fairly new to 40k and ive bought a couple of dark angels rhinos and dreadnoughts off ebay, there already assembled and glued , i was just wondering if there is a way of stripping it to apart to do a better paint job, same thing with the dreadnought as the arms are glued on, any advice would help, thanks alot

Scout

Talking taking tanks apart

Hi guys im fairly new and ive bought some rhino tanks and dreadnoughts that are already assembled and glued, i was just wondering if there was anyway of stripping them or taking them apart to make a better paint job, especially the dreadnoughts arms. Is there any way of doing this or any advice ? Thanks alot

Librarian

in the states simple green works really well at stripping non medal models. just let them soak and scrub clean with a brush. um as for taking apart tanks.. hmm the simple green will loosen the glue ocassionally depending on what they used. um acetone can work as well but gotta be careful with that dependant on what your using it on.
    unfiltered since 85. Don't like me tell some one who cares

Dettol works wonders for paint stripping.

Various things work, with Dettol being one of the popular solutions. Do a search for 'dettol paint stripping' or similar and you'll find tutorials - try Youtube if you want videos.

It would help to know a) what the models are made of, b) what kind of paint is used, and c) what kind of glue is used. Most likely answers are plastic, acrylic, and poly cement, but some stripping products are only safe for metal or will damage superglue, etc.

p.s. This doesn't really belong under 40k rumours - I assume someone has power to move it...

Brother-Sergeant

If they used superglue, you can generally get models apart. If they used plastic glue, you generally need a saw. :P
    Last edited by SquigBrain; 04-07-2014 at 12:11 PM. Reason: No spel gud
    Anuvver triumph uv orky know-wotz!