BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Veteran-Sergeant

Default Archon loadout fun time!

Hey all! I recently started playing Dark Eldar after playing Black Templars and Dark Angels for a good while. I'm trying to work out what a good loadout for my Archon would be and I'm liking this:

Shadowfield because duh.
    Ghostplate Armour for backup.
    Haywire Grenades in case I'm charged by a walker.
    Combat Drugs because I like running Sliscus and a possible free Pain Token is just... Yes.
    Phantasm Grenade Launcher for charging entrenched units.
    Agoniser for MCs, Nurgle bikers etc.
    Huskblade for insta-gibbing HQs.

I should contextualise by saying I mainly play friendly games so I'm not super-concerned about being uber competitive, just wanna see if this loadout is totally worthless or not :P I also play against Chaos a lot so I see a lot of Marines, Daemon Princes and TEQs. Also, I've tended so far to stick my Archon in a unit of Incubi in a Splinter Cannon Venom. Hard-hitting combat deathstar, yay!

Anyway, I'd be really interested in your thoughts about this Archon build!

Why vanilla archon? If I were you, I'd go for the Baron or Vect.

That Archon sounds like a serious beatstick, but must cost a load of points. I'd have thought you were better off keeping it cheaper and spending more points elsewhere.

Yup, what he said. I normally go for bare bones haemonculus for 50 knicker. For the points you save you can get two venoms with 3 wracks each.

For larger games, I normally go Vect for the bonus to seize (going first is the most important thing when playing Dark Eldar). I use the baron if I'm playing a beast pack. He's a decent beat stick and is only double the point of a haemonculus.

i like the duke or baron just for the 'free' points stuff and flavour. the 'extra' wound on a base archon is very rarely useful.

a friend runs one but he always uses the court as a close assault group.

Veteran-Sergeant