BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum
    Scout

Smile New player looking to make a start

Hi all, after playing warhammer and 40k for the best part of a decade now I have been looking at making a move toward a different game system. Luckily at uni some of my friends are thinking of starting warmachine/hordes in the new academic year, as such I thought it would be a good chance to try out a new system, even though I have no experience with any privateer press games. After asking my friends and browsing the site I found out that I am going to be up against protectorate, khador and a couple of everblight from what I have been told by friends but I'm looking at getting a Retribution of Scyrah army.

To put it simply, what would be the best way to start of well in terms of buying models, playstyle ect.?
    Last edited by KnightEagle; 07-02-2014 at 01:42 PM.

The starter box is nice. A Phoenix jack is used more but the manticore is the second best of that chassis.
    An Arcanist will be in every list because it supports jacks so well. Kaelyssa is in the starter other good casters are epic vyros, issyria, rahn, and ravyn. They have depth but are pretty easy to use.
    Melee units you have sentinels, halberdiers, and infiltrators. All need their ua's in fact all of ret loves their ua's rifleman it isn't' necessary. Basically sents (hits harder and remains a threat) and halberdiers (longer threat range will hit hard but have less staying power they want their solo also making them 11) are the two main Melee groups. I prefer sents but halberdiers have their place. Ranged units you have Magehunter strike force, Invictors, and rifleman first two need UA's rifleman need their solo.
    The new character jack imperatus is amazing.