BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Hybrid View

Default A newbie's decision

please move this if it doesn't belong in this section

I am brand new to wargaming in general & i have decided on WH40k.
    I have painted a squad of Grey Knights, and they interest me very much.
    Unfortunately,after my first squad, i am having a bit of trouble deciding my next move, Should it be an HQ choice, a transport like a razorback, or another squad?
    Thanks in advance,
    Spark.
    P.S. I have a strike squad, not a terminator squad.

First-Captain

Codex and basic rules are there I assume? Just so that you can actually play...
    Model wise, an HQ and another Troops choice would be the logical, although not strictly required anymore, choices. Maybe go for a Librarian as an HQ (versatile and no total slouch in combat) and a Terminator squad just to have a bit of variety (and they can later double as Paladins as well should you so desire)?
    The bigger they are, the bigger the mess they make when they step on you. - Ahzek Ahriman, on Titans

I second that you should be looking at another unit of troops and an HQ. If you are newer to painting as well, I would do more troops first rather than the HQ. It is a good way to build confidence in your skills.

Spark,
    what you need to get next depends largely on where, and with whom, you play WH40K. If you're starting a new WH40K group, then get anything you're interested in, AFTER you get the rules and the codex. If you are joining an established group, find out if they play Kill Team or Combat Patrol. Those two games are "smaller" versions of WH40K and you can get into the game with only a bit more in terms of models. If they don't play Kill Team or Combat Patrol, and only play 500+ point games, you'll need an HQ unit and another Troops unit. AND the codex and rules.