BoLS Lounge : Wargames, Warhammer & Miniatures Forum

Default 50pt pHaley List advice!

Hi all! I'm pretty new to warma hordes, but currently i'm working my way into making a full 50 pt list with pHaley. I was wondering if the good community here would be able to give me some critiques and advice on my current 35 point set up, and my proposed 50 pt set up. Currently I only own the core rulebook and cygnar book so I don't have too much knowledge about all the newer units that have come after those book! Thanks in advance for the critiques!

Without further ado:

pHaley @ 35 pts

Haley + battlegroup of : lancer, hunter

Arcane tempest gun mages with UA

min squad of Long gunners

Journeyman + battlegroup of defender

squire

for 50 points i was thinking of adding a 2nd defender under haley, with either gorman di wulfe + ayanna/holt or going full long gunner squad. What do you all think?

The thing is that Haley needs most of her Focus for herself. Typically, she will upkeep Arcane Shield on herself or the Lancer, then cast a Temporal Barrier and then either keep the other two for her powerfield or for Deadeye. So she does not really want to run Warjacks that need Focus. Thus she is best with just a Lancer or her character Lancer, Thorn, to have access to an arc node in case she needs to cast other spells or just to avoid being too close to the action. More than one jack on her is generally a waste unless you run the list with two Stormwalls on her, but that is a completely different list.

The Journeyman should also not have a Warjack, he is there to drop an Arcane Shield and then take potshots with his handcannon. Attaching a jack to him makes him too much of a target and a clever opponent will drop him to render his much tougher jack inert, so keep him without the jack, put an Arcane Shield on something turn 1, then hide him in the second wave.